Direct admission spreads to 15 states, but study finds limited effect on low-income enrollment
Direct admission programs, which offer college acceptance to students who meet set eligibility criteria without requiring an application, have been adopted statewide in 15 states as of December 2025, according to the National College Attainment Network. A peer-reviewed study of Idaho's program found it raised first-time undergraduate enrollment by 4-8%, mostly at two-year, open-access schools, but showed little to no increase in enrollment among Pell-eligible students.
GoKawiil's interpretation of the reporting above, not reported fact.
The Idaho findings suggest that removing application friction alone may not close access gaps for low-income students, who may face other barriers like cost or preparation rather than just the admissions process. This could push policymakers to pair direct admission with financial aid outreach or advising rather than treating automation as a complete fix, though the source does not specify what reforms, if any, states are now considering.
- 15 states had statewide direct admission programs as of December 2025.
- Idaho's program boosted enrollment by 4-8%, mainly at two-year colleges.
- The study found little to no impact on Pell-eligible student enrollment.
Source: entrepreneur.com — Ashish Fernando, 2026-10-12
Published there as: “Colleges Are Admitting Students Who Never Applied. Here’s What That Doesn’t Fix.”
Read the original report → The summary and analysis above are GoKawiil's own, written from reporting by the source above. Facts and quotes belong to the original publisher.