Independent testers have built two unofficial fixes for DLSS 5's steep performance cost, which Nvidia's own benchmarks showed can nearly halve frame rates on RTX 50-series cards. One method, a ReShade add-on called Neural Upstream, reorders the pipeline so the neural pass runs on the smaller pre-upscaled image rather than the full output frame, cutting its processing load by roughly two-thirds of the pixel count. Early tests on an RTX 4080 in Assassin's Creed Shadows show the neural rendering overhead dropping from about 32 FPS to 13 FPS lost, a 61% improvement, with similar gains reported in other titles.
techspot.com
· 2026-09-08
SRhonyra is selling a single-slot, low-profile RTX 3060 with 12GB of memory and dual monitor outputs that draws all its power from the PCIe slot rather than external connectors, priced at $495.59 on Newegg. The card, once seen for around $340 two months ago, reflects a broader surge in GPU pricing, and the vendor markets it specifically as suitable for running 7B to 13B parameter local LLMs.
tomshardware.com
· 2026-09-08
At PAX West in Seattle, Nvidia is offering its Founder's Edition RTX 5090, RTX 5080, and RTX 5070 graphics cards at list price on-site, along with GeForce Trading Cards, while supplies last. GeForce Evangelist Jacob Freeman announced the in-person Verified Priority Access event on X, inviting attendees to find him for a chance at an MSRP card. This follows a similar giveaway at QuakeCon last month.
tomshardware.com
· 2026-09-05
At IFA 2026 in Berlin, Windows PC makers including Dell, Acer, Lenovo and Packard Bell showed off affordable, colorful mid-range laptops aimed squarely at competing with Apple's MacBook Neo. Lenovo's IdeaPad Vibe stood out with seven color options and swappable keycaps, while Nvidia and AMD pushed AI-focused hardware, including Nvidia's RTX Spark platform and AMD's Ryzen AI Max+ Pro 495 chip with up to 192GB of unified memory.
tomshardware.com
· 2026-09-05
Nvidia's DLSS 5 has launched as an official feature in NBA 2K27, marking the first first-party implementation of the technology after weeks of community mods. Tom's Hardware tested it across the full RTX 50-series lineup, finding it demands a notable performance cost but still runs at 1080p on nearly every Blackwell GPU.
tomshardware.com
· 2026-09-05
Nvidia has launched DLSS 5 for the first time inside NBA 2K27, built with developer Visual Concepts to enhance lighting and shadows on top of scanned player models rather than replace the game's rendering pipeline. The feature is currently restricted to RTX 50-series cards, though Nvidia says support for RTX 40-series GPUs will follow at an unspecified date.
tomshardware.com
· 2026-09-04
Woot is selling a refurbished Alienware 16 Aurora gaming laptop with an Nvidia RTX 5050 GPU for $927 for new customers using a checkout code, or $1,029 for returning shoppers, undercutting the $1,099.99 new price at Alienware's own site. The refurbished unit still carries a one-year Alienware warranty and includes a 1600p 120Hz 16-inch display, Intel's Core 7 240H processor, 16GB of DDR5 RAM, and a 512GB SSD.
theverge.com
· 2026-09-04
Nvidia used IFA to confirm that PCs built around its RTX Spark Arm-based SoC will ship starting in October, with partners now including Lenovo and Acer alongside previously announced Microsoft, HP, Dell, Asus and MSI machines. The lineup includes a flagship 6,144-CUDA-core, 20-core Grace configuration with up to 128GB of unified memory, plus a lower-tier laptop-only chip with 5,120 CUDA cores and 18 CPU cores.
techspot.com
· 2026-09-04
Nvidia's RTX Spark N1X chips, unveiled at Computex 2026 with several laptop partners, now have a firmer release window of October rather than a vague 'fall' target. The lineup includes a 20-CPU-core/6,144-GPU-core variant supporting up to 128GB unified memory for laptops and desktops, and an 18-core/5,120-GPU-core version limited to 32GB for laptops only. Nvidia has not disclosed pricing for either chip.
cnet.com
· 2026-09-03
Nvidia has officially detailed its RTX Spark chip, branding it the N1X and confirming it will ship in laptops and mini PCs starting in October. The lineup includes a top config pairing a 20-core Grace CPU with a 6,144-core Blackwell GPU and up to 128GB of unified memory, plus a lower-tier laptop-only version with 18 CPU cores, 5,120 CUDA cores, and up to 32GB of memory. Lenovo and Acer have already unveiled devices using the chip ahead of IFA Berlin, with more OEMs expected to follow.
tomshardware.com
· 2026-09-03
Lenovo has published detailed specifications for two Nvidia RTX Spark-based laptops: the Yoga Pro 9n clamshell and the Yoga 9n 2-in-1 convertible. Both use Grace CPUs with up to 20 cores and Blackwell RTX graphics with up to 6,144 cores, but differ in memory, storage type and screen size, with the Pro model offering higher-end specs overall.
tomshardware.com
· 2026-09-03
At IFA, Lenovo detailed two new laptops built around NVIDIA's RTX Spark, an ARM-based chip combining a Grace CPU with a Blackwell GPU. The Yoga Pro 9n is a 15.3-inch machine with up to 128GB unified memory, 4TB storage and a 2.5K OLED display, while the Yoga 9n 2-in-1 is a 16-inch convertible with up to 64GB memory and a touchscreen OLED panel. Lenovo did not disclose pricing or release dates for either device.
engadget.com
· 2026-09-03